top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnna

January Round Up of Homestead Happenings!


The new year is here and we are already busy with homesteading activities for 2023! Our chickens have started laying eggs, and pretty soon there will be lots of duck eggs too. We already have a surplus of eggs so we plan to start selling them soon at the farm stand. Stay tuned for more info on that!

I'm planning out monthly tasks for the garden, and already started seeds indoors for winter/early spring crops such as broccoli, cabbage, lettuce, onions, spinach, and more. For the winter season I plan to try growing a few of these in a straw bale cold frame - we'll see how it goes! We are also working on a new garden gate and fence posts for the main garden space.

Canning has been another winter task - I finally canned strawberry jam from the crate of strawberries I got at last summer's farmer's market, and now I'm canning all of the dry beans in storage. My goal is to can something every week, for the remainder of the winter season.

We are excited for what the year holds, and thankful to our feather friends for providing delicious eggs!






Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page